jesshullinger

Recent Projects and Summer Publications

In Community, Environment, Food, news, Roller Derby, Sustainability on June 27, 2010 at 6:05 pm

I took this photo on the day of Summer Solstice while driving back from Chicago. The storm rolled in above me and I couldn't catch up to it, but I got to observe its splendor from afar. A fabulous way to ring in the new sweltering season.

Hello again.  I’ve been busy, busy, to say the least.  HELEN magazine was released last week with the roller derby story on the cover.  It seems to have been well-received by both the community and the Lafayette Brawlin’ Dolls.  I will post a copy of the story online as soon as I can get a PDF uploaded.  If you’d like a hard copy of the magazine, please let me know and I’ll send one out to you, gladly.  Last night the Brawlin’ Dolls had another home bout. They lost, but only by a few points, and considering the team they played against was so good, the close score was a sign that the Brawlin’ Dolls are playing really well.  In fact, Coach Cooch said it was the best they’ve ever played together.  At the after party, the girls and the coach thanked me for my story, and that warmed my heart.  Coach even gave me her whistle, despite my protest.  It now hangs from my rear view mirror as a constant reminder of the friends I’ve made in the amazing world of derby.

Currently I’m doing some further freelance work for Author House.  I am also launching a new project with Commercial Broker’s Inc. here in Lafayette.  Barry Rubin, the company founder and a family friend, is signing on to the 1sky Clean Energy Business Leaders Statement, which pledges that his company is dedicated to finding and supporting clean energy policy. Awesome!

Don't worry, the Japanese Pan Noodles from Noodles and Co. is vegan. It's a good thing, too, because it's probably my favorite thing on the menu.

I am also continuing with my Vegan Challenge on the Conducive Chronicle.  I’ve spent the last 12 days as a vegan to reduce my environmental footprint.  The tw0 week challenge is almost done, but I have learned so much that I will likely try to cut animal products out of my diet as often as possible in the future.  You can read the entire series here.

Also check out ImaginedMag.com, a sister publication to Conducive Chronicle, where some of my work will also be featured.

It’s sweltering hot here in Indiana.  I love it.  And the cicadas in the trees are buzzing and humming in true summer fashion.  It’s almost deafening.  Life is sweet, people are great, and opportunity is abound.  Oh, and the environment is too lovely to trash.  That’s where I’m at right now.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

